A contemporary Christian praise and worship I absolutely refuse to listen to or sing

There is a particular praise and worship contemporary Christian song that is quite popular, with many congregations having sung it during a worship gathering.

It will not be sung in a worship gathering of a congregation of which I pastor.

What song is that? Breathe by Michael W. Smith.

Here are the some of the lyrics:

This is the air I breathe
This is the air I breathe
Your holy presence living in me

This is my daily bread
This is my daily bread
Your very word spoken to me

And I, I’m desperate for you
And I, I’m lost without you

Have absolutely no problem with the lyrics through the first 6 lines. It’s line 7 where the contradiction and anti-gospel nature enters.

Smith writes, “Your holy presence living in me.” Beautiful and true because the nature of Jesus lives within every believer, for He is our new nature. God, through Jesus and the Holy Spirit, now inhabits His people, whereas, in the Old Testament, that presence would come and go, only visiting. Paul speaks to this multiple times in his letters. But tell me, how often are you desperate for something you already have?

I hope not at all. It’s hard to be desperate for something you already possess. So, there’s the contradictory wording. You are not desperate for the One who already inhabits you. And because it is only something you don’t have already possess for which you are desperate, that line also speaks to how it was in the Old Testament, which is opposite to how God now does it in the New Covenant, the only covenant that matters to us who are believers.

Therefore, that song will not see the light of day in a worship gathering of a congregation which I pastor. I am not desperate for the presence of God; He, through the Spirit of His Son and the Holy Spirit is already living in me; He inhabits me.

And I will not sing a song that makes me say I’m desperate for His presence; because I’m not, not even in the least.

Leave a Reply

