A Discerning Ear

I have begun to be a bit more discerning in the Christian music to which I listen or skip by on Pandora.

How have I gone about doing this?  Well, it wasn’t by genre.  It was by the lyrics and the things that they were saying.  Believe it or not, there are Christian songs out there whose lyrics actually go against what Scripture teaches.  For example, I have heard a few songs whose lyrics reference 1 Corinthians 2:9 which says, “But just as it is written, ‘Eye has not seen and ear has not heard and has not come up in a man’s heart the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.'”  The lyrics of these songs follow the prevailing interpretation that Paul is speaking about heaven.  But verse 10 and the rest of the context shows that Paul is not speaking about heaven.  He is talking about God’s wisdom and revelation among the believers.  Paul states in verse 10, “…but God has revealed them to us through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches all things, even the depths of God.”

So I put the thumb down to those songs.

Another example is the song which says, “I’m desperate for God.”  I’m not desperate for God in the least.  Why should I be?  His Spirit, the Spirit of His Son resides within me.  Being desperate for God is an Old Testament attitude, not a New Testament one.  Why, then, should I listen to a song which speaks to an Old Testament view of and approach to God?  That’s just silly.  I would have to give up the intimate and constant presence of the Spirit in order to be desperate for God.  Why would I want to do that?

So, I won’t listen to songs whose lyrics are not in harmony with the New Testament and the wonderful news and new way of God relating and being with us found in the New Covenant.

This practice has really caused me to pay attention to the lyrics to which I am listening.

Leave a Reply

