My focus for 2015

I have been led to center 2015 around a passage familiar to many Christians.  It is from Paul’s letter to the believers in the city of Philippi.  He wrote that he wanted to “know [Christ] and the power of His resurrection and the fellowship of His sufferings, sharing the likeness of His death, if in some way [he] may attain unto the resurrection which is from death.” (Translation mine & [pronouns changed from first to third person])

It is my desire is that the experiences God allows me to have in 2015 would take me deeper in that awesome power that was at work in Christ’s resurrection.  What’s exciting to realize is that, from his words in Ephesians 1, Paul says that this power which energized Christ’s resurrection, that power which surpasses greatness, has been made to work unto and toward and in those who have believed the message of Christ.  So, the power is already there which is exciting, but I long to experience a deeper level of that power this year.  I long to see God do powerful things that just blow me away, things around me, toward me, and in and through me.

It is my desire that the experiences God allows me to have in 2015 would give me a deeper appreciation for Christ’s own experience while on this earth.  It is my desire that God gives me a deeper understanding and experience of what it means to have been “crucified with Christ,” (Galatians 2:19) since I have been joined at the hip with Christ in His death and have had my old nature crucified alongside of Him.  That means having a deeper experience of the new nature which is mine because the Spirit of God’s Son, when I believed, was sent forth into my heart (Galatians 4:6).  And I view this as a type of resurrection since Paul says in Galatians 2:20, “yet no longer do I live, but Christ lives in me; and now that which I live in flesh, I live by faith, that of the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself up for me.”

So, here’s looking forward to year of experiences that will take me deeper in experience of what I have been given through and by Christ.

One thing I do know; with God, it is rarely a dull ride!

Leave a Reply

