Where’s the Focus?

Something got my mind thinking this morning.  (I know, that’s a dangerous thing!)  I was drawn to I Corinthians 10:13 which says, “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted,he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”  

This verse is speaking only to the level of temptation God will allow me to see.  Temptation is that which has a possible outcome of a sinful decision or reaction.  Because God wants to see my heavenly identity, by which He already knows me, become my earthly reality, He will only allow me to experience temptation at the current level of that process so that I continue to develop and grow into my heavenly identity.

This verse, though, does not speak about difficult circumstances, situations and troubles that are found in life.  There are many times where God asks me to go through these things or asks me to do things which are way beyond my ability to handle.  It is in those times that I need to trust Him and Whom He is for me at that time.

Think about it; if God only asked me to encounter, experience or do things which I could do in my own human ability, why would I need to trust Him?  God, though, is about growth and the learning process.  Therefore, He allows and asks me to encounter, experience and do things which are beyond me so that I MUST trust in Him and Whom He is for me at that time.

This is why Paul says in Philippians 4:13 this: I am able to do all things in Him who empowers me.”  No matter the situation or circumstances in which I find myself, I am able to handle it, not because of my own abilities, but because of Christ and His strength.  

Paul, in I Corinthians 1, says that God chose the weak and foolish things of the world in order to shame the strong and wise of the world by empowering the weak and foolish to do things which go way beyond their physical, mental or spiritual abilities to accomplish.  

It is for this reason, then, that I, just as Paul did, will boast about my weaknesses (2 Corinthians 11:30) and be “well pleased in weaknesses, in insults, in necessities, in persecutions and distresses, on behalf of Christ, for when I am weak, then I am powerful.”

It’s not about me; it’s about God and what He can do through me.  It is for this reason that I rejoice!

Leave a Reply

